Thanksgiving and reflection

Well here we are the night before Thanksgiving and I am sure thankful of the results from last week from W scare. She is doing much better and still getting used to the modifications she needs to do for now. I have to admit I am watching her closely and knowing I need to step back which I have done, but it’s not easy yet she knows when to stop. I have to trust that.

 One thing that came to light in our scare last week is a double heartache. If something were to happen to one of us not only would we lose a spouse but we would most likely also lose the bio kids of the person since they all have a bio dad. That would be incredibly hard to overcome for us and for the kids as well. We at some point had discussed having our own or even adopting a child. In the end we decided not to and I never really gave it a second thought until this past week…..if something happened to one of us there would still be a child from us, our relationship, our love, and commitment to each other.

 I can’t even tell you if this makes any sense, I think it comes from the what if’s of life. We have wonderful kids they are all a blessing to us. I love W’s kids as they were my own and if I lost them if something happened that makes me feel ill. I do feel at peace with the decision we made, it’s just something that has been on my mind since last week. Now that I have finally written about it I can lay it to rest.

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Rosie Says:

    I hear you completely! Dawn and I would be in the same boat! I do know that my ex husband would allow her to remain a close part of their lives though.. even seeing the children overnight/holidays etc. but it is a hard thought o know that the entire family would be destroyed.

    Having scares like this sure makes you think and it forces you to realize how much you have to be thankful for.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

